120 million euros for modern railway stations in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania

Schwerin, 12 July 2022 Barrier-free access, better information for passengers, new roofs and facades: Deutsche Bahn (DB) is modernising 56 stations in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern by 2031. To finance this, the state, the VMV-Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and DB have concluded a new framework agreement. Together they will invest a total of 120 million euros over the next ten years to make the stations more attractive for travellers - that's about 40 per cent more than the last agreement concluded in 2011. The goal is to convince more people to take the climate-friendly train as a means of transport.

Bernd Koch, Chairman of the Management Board of DB Station&ServiceAn attractive railway station can be the decisive argument for switching from the car to the environmentally friendly train. That is why we are investing in more than 50 stations in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and making them much more attractive. At the same time, we are creating more space for additional passengers with longer and new platforms. In Stralsund South, we will build a completely new station to offer even more people a direct rail connection."

Reinhard Meyer, Minister for Economic Affairs, Infrastructure, Tourism and Labour of the State of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania: "Around 100,000 travellers will benefit from the new agreement - especially at smaller and medium-sized stations. Access to local rail passenger transport will become easier, more comfortable and safer for many travellers, especially in rural areas. A good quality of stay at stations is crucial for the use of local rail transport, especially in the tourist state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. That is why it is so important that they are attractive and barrier-free for our citizens and guests and invite them to get on and off the train. Stations are like a business card and often convey the first impression of a city or municipality, so they should be designed accordingly. In the sense of modern, sustainable mobility, it is also a matter of networking the means of transport so that changing trains is made easier.

Daniel Bischof, authorised signatory and head of department for transport economics and digitalisation, VMV-Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern: "There is still a great need for barrier-free expansion and modernisation of railway stations in our country. I am therefore very pleased that we can respond to this need with the help of an investment-strong framework agreement. Together, we can strengthen rail transport and make it more attractive for more travellers - also in rural areas.

Selection of improvements at railway stations in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern:

By 2025, DB expects to make Ludwigslust station barrier-free, so that passengers will be able to reach all platforms by lift. In future, passengers will be able to reach Papendorf station without steps. DB is upgrading the station there to be barrier-free in a new location. Stralsund South is getting a completely new station. At Warnemünde station, DB is renovating the façade and the roof of the station building as well as the platform roofs of platforms 3 and 4. Passengers will also get new toilets here. In Pasewalk Ost, Mönchhagen and Wismar, we are renewing platforms, lighting and weather protection. In Bergen (Rügen) and Greifswald Süd we are extending platforms and renewing the display monitors.

Further measures and investments by DB and the state in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern go far beyond the 120 million euros now agreed until 2031, for example DB is renewing bridges, tracks and overhead lines in and around Rostock and modernising 15 stations on the Berlin-Rostock line to make them barrier-free. Two new stations are also being added: firstly Schwerin Industrial Park and secondly the station Rövershagen Karls Erlebnisdorf.

 

News

First battery fleet for Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania

Rostock, 25.11.2022 The state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and Deutsche Bahn (DB) are taking the next step towards emission-free, climate-neutral rail transport. For the first time, DB Regio in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania will be

Last seasonal journey of the RE 27

Bergen auf Rügen, 22.10.2022 On the route from Bergen auf Rügen to Sassnitz-Mukran Fährhafen, passengers were able to travel by train on Saturdays for the first time this season.

Your opinion counts

Have your say on the 2023 Roadmap

The extensive consultation with passengers as part of the preparation of the 2023 annual timetable has come to an end. The draft versions of the 2023 annual timetable are still available for inspection. Please note that the draft versions will not be updated.

120 Millionen Euro für moderne Bahnhöfe in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

Schwerin, 12. Juli 2022 Barrierefreie Zugänge, bessere Informationen für die Reisenden, neue Dächer und Fassaden: Bis 2031 modernisiert die Deutsche Bahn (DB) 56 Bahnhöfe in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Zur Finanzierung hat das Land, die VMV-Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und die DB eine neue Rahmenvereinbarung abgeschlossen. Zusammen investieren sie in den nächsten zehn Jahren insgesamt 120 Millionen Euro, um die Stationen attraktiver für die Reisenden zu machen – das sind rund 40 Prozent mehr als bei der letzten, 2011 abgeschlossenen, Vereinbarung. Ziel ist es, mehr Menschen vom klimafreundlichen Verkehrsmittel Bahn zu überzeugen.

Bernd Koch, Vorstandsvorsitzender von DB Station&Service: „Ein attraktiver Bahnhof kann das ausschlaggebende Argument sein, vom Auto auf die umweltfreundliche Bahn umzusteigen. Deswegen investieren wir in über 50 Stationen in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und machen sie deutlich schöner. Gleichzeitig schaffen wir mit längeren und neuen Bahnsteigen mehr Platz für zusätzliche Reisende. In Stralsund Süd werden wir eine komplett neue Station bauen, um noch mehr Menschen einen direkten Bahnanschluss zu bieten.“

Reinhard Meyer, Minister für Wirtschaft, Infrastruktur, Tourismus und Arbeit des Landes Mecklenburg-Vorpommern: „Von der neuen Vereinbarung profitieren rund 100.000 Reisende – vor allem an kleineren und mittleren Stationen. Der Zugang zum Schienenpersonennahverkehr wird vor allem im ländlichen Raum für viele Reisende einfacher, komfortabler und sicherer. Eine gute Aufenthaltsqualität an Bahnhöfen und Stationen ist gerade auch im Tourismusland Mecklenburg-Vorpommern entscheidend für die Nutzung des Nahverkehrs auf der Schiene. Deshalb ist es so wichtig, dass diese attraktiv und barrierefrei für unsere Bürgerinnen und Bürger sowie Gäste sind und zum Ein- und Aussteigen einladen. Bahnhöfe sind wie eine Visitenkarte und vermitteln häufig den ersten Eindruck einer Stadt oder Gemeinde, dementsprechend sind sie zu gestalten. Im Sinne einer modernen, nachhaltigen Mobilität geht es darüber hinaus auch um die Vernetzung der Verkehrsmittel, damit Umsteigen leichter gemacht wird.“

Daniel Bischof, Prokurist und Abteilungsleiter für Verkehrswirtschaft und Digitalisierung, VMV-Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern: „Bei uns im Land gibt es weiterhin einen großen Bedarf beim barrierefreien Ausbau und der Modernisierung von Bahnhöfen. Daher freue ich mich sehr, dass wir mithilfe einer investitionsstarken Rahmenvereinbarung auf diesen Bedarf reagieren können. Zusammen können wir so den Bahnverkehr stärken und für mehr Reisende – auch im ländlichen Raum – attraktiver machen.“

Auswahl der Verbesserungen an Bahnhöfen in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern:

Bis voraussichtlich 2025 baut die DB den Bahnhof Ludwigslust barrierefrei aus, so dass Reisende alle Bahnsteige auch per Aufzug erreichen. Stufenfrei erreichen die Reisenden zukünftig den Bahnhof Papendorf. Dort baut die DB die Station in neuer Lage barrierefrei aus. Stralsund Süd erhält einen komplett neuen Bahnhof. Am Bahnhof Warnemünde erneuert die DB die Fassade und das Dach des Bahnhofsgebäudes sowie die Bahnsteigdächer der Gleise 3 und 4. Zudem bekommen Reisende hier neue Toiletten. In Pasewalk Ost, Mönchhagen und Wismar erneuern wir Bahnsteige, Beleuchtung und Wetterschutz. In Bergen (Rügen) und Greifswald Süd verlängern wir Bahnsteige und erneuern die Anzeigemonitore.

Weitere Maßnahmen und Investitionen der DB und des Landes in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern gehen weit über die jetzt vereinbarten 120 Millionen Euro bis 2031 hinaus, beispielsweise erneuert die DB in und um Rostock Brücken, Gleise und Oberleitungen und modernisiert 15 Bahnhöfe an der Strecke Berlin-Rostock barrierefrei. Auch zwei weitere neue Stationen kommen hinzu: Zum einen Schwerin Industriepark und zum zweiten die Station Rövershagen Karls Erlebnisdorf.

 

Aktuelles

Züge im Landesdesign

Schwerin 30.09.2022 Das Reisen mit dem Zug ist so beliebt wie nie zuvor. Doch wie werden wir künftig reisen und welche Anforderungen stellen Pendler, Touristen,

Vergabeverfahren Netz Nord-Süd

Pressemitteilung des Ministeriums für Wirtschaft, Infrastruktur, Tourismus und Arbeit Schwerin, 20. September 2022 Der Verkehrsverbund Berlin-Brandenburg (VBB) hat den Zuschlag im Wettbewerbsverfahren Netz Nord-Süd an

Tag der Schiene

DB Netz und VMV in Schwerin zu Infrastrukturprojekten in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Schwerin 16.09.2022, die DB Netz und die VMV-Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern mbH präsentierten sich am Freitag im

Ihre Meinung zählt

Reden Sie mit beim Fahrplan 2023

Die umfassende Beteiligung der Fahrgäste bei der Vorbereitung des Jahresfahrplanes 2023 ist abgeschlossen. Die Fahrplanentwürfe für den Jahresfahrplan 2023 stehen weiterhin zur Einsichtnahme bereit. Bitte beachten Sie, dass eine Aktualisierung der Fahrplanentwürfe nicht erfolgt.