Station Ribnitz-Damgarten West extensively modernised

Press release of the Ministry of Economy, Infrastructure, Tourism and Labour
Meyer: New gateway to the amber town of Ribnitz-Damgarten

Ribnitz-Damgarten, 06.09.2023, as of today, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern has another fully modernised railway station. The long-distance and regional railway station Ribnitz-Damgarten West has been extensively upgraded and made barrier-free. The platforms are now higher, longer and equipped with digital information systems as well as modern loudspeakers and offer more travellers covered lounges with weather protection.

Reinhard Meyer, Minister of Economic Affairs and Transport: "I am pleased to be able to reopen one of the "entrance gates" to the amber town of Ribnitz-Damgarten and the tourist region of Fischland-Darß-Zingst, the long-distance and regional railway station Ribnitz-Damgarten West, after the thorough modernisation and renovation. In the railway sector, it is not only a matter of expanding, electrifying and reactivating lines, but of course also of modernising the access points in order to make it as pleasant as possible for customers to change and board regional and long-distance trains. With the mobility offensive launched this year by the state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, public transport in all parts of the state will be significantly strengthened in terms of infrastructure and services."

Alexander Kaczmarek, DB Group Representative for Berlin, Brandenburg and Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania: "We have not only modernised the station, but also expanded it at the same time. This means that Ribnitz-Damgarten West is now an even more important hub for rail transport to the Baltic Sea and the gateway to the Fischland/Darß holiday region for travellers using public transport. The station is an attractive, new calling card for the town, but above all a noticeable improvement for all residents and guests travelling to and from the town by climate-friendly rail."

The reconstruction of Ribnitz-Damgarten West station began one and a half years ago. During this time, the old central platform including the zebra crossing was removed and the platform at the station building was completely overhauled. The new platforms were designed for Intercity and ICE trains - so two long-distance trains can stop at the station in future. For barrier-free use of the station, the new passenger subway is equipped with a lift and a covered ramp. The improved guidance system for the blind facilitates orientation.

The elaborately designed subway shows motifs from Ribnitz-Damgarten and the region. Local artists were responsible for the design. To save energy, DB has also converted the lighting to energy-saving LED lights.

The federal government, the state and Deutsche Bahn have invested a total of around 15 million euros in the modernisation of the station.

News

Timetable conference in Rostock

Rostock, 28.02.2024 The timetable conference for local rail passenger transport (SPNV) took place today at the Rostock Chamber of Industry and Commerce with the public transport authorities, transport companies and passenger associations.

Bahnhof Ribnitz-Damgarten West umfassend modernisiert

Pressemitteilung des Ministeriums für Wirtschaft, Infrastruktur, Tourismus und Arbeit
Meyer: Neues Eingangstor der Bernsteinstadt Ribnitz-Damgarten

Ribnitz-Damgarten, 06.09.2023, seit heute hat Mecklenburg-Vorpommern einen weiteren vollständig modernisierten Bahnhof. Der Fern- und Regionalbahnhof Ribnitz-Damgarten West wurde umfassend ausgebaut und barrierefrei gestaltet. Die Bahnsteige sind nun höher, länger und mit digitalen Informationsanlagen sowie mit modernen Lautsprechern ausgestattet und bieten mehr Reisenden überdachte Aufenthaltsplätze mit Wetterschutz.

Reinhard Meyer, Wirtschafts- und Verkehrsminister: „Ich freue ich mich nach der grundhaften Modernisierung und Sanierung eines der „Eingangstore“ zur Bernsteinstadt Ribnitz-Damgarten und der Tourismusregion Fischland-Darß-Zingst, den Fern- und Regionalbahnhof Ribnitz-Damgarten West, wieder eröffnen zu können. Im Eisenbahnbereich gilt es nicht nur Strecken auszubauen, zu elektrifizieren und zu reaktivieren, sondern natürlich auch die Zugangspunkte zu modernisieren, um den Kunden den Um- und Einstieg in die Züge des Regional- und Fernverkehrs so angenehm wie möglich zu machen. Mit der in diesem Jahr gestarteten Mobilitätsoffensive des Landes Mecklenburg-Vorpommern wird der ÖPNV in allen Landesteilen infrastrukturell und angebotsseitig wesentlich gestärkt werden.“

Alexander Kaczmarek, DB-Konzernbevollmächtigter für Berlin, Brandenburg und Mecklenburg-Vorpommern: „Wir haben den Bahnhof nicht nur modernisiert, sondern gleichzeitig ausgebaut. Damit ist Ribnitz-Damgarten West jetzt ein noch bedeutenderes Drehkreuz für den Bahnverkehr zur Ostsee und für Reisende mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln das Tor zur Urlaubsregion Fischland/Darß. Der Bahnhof ist eine attraktive, neue Visitenkarte für die Stadt, vor allem aber eine spürbare Verbesserung für alle Einwohner und Gäste, die mit der klimafreundlichen Bahn an- und abreisen.“

Der Umbau des Bahnhofs Ribnitz-Damgarten West begann vor anderthalb Jahren. In dieser Zeit wurde der alte Mittelbahnsteig inklusive Überweg entfernt und der Bahnsteig am Bahnhofsgebäude vollständig überarbeitet. Die neuen Bahnsteige wurden auf Intercity- und ICE-Züge ausgerichtet – so können künftig zwei Fernverkehrszüge am Bahnhof halten. Für die barrierefreie Nutzung der Station ist die neue Personenunterführung mit einem Aufzug und einer überdachten Rampe ausgestattet. Das verbesserte Blindenleitsystem erleichtert die Orientierung.

Die aufwendig gestaltete Unterführung zeigt Motive aus Ribnitz-Damgarten und der Region. Die Gestaltung übernahmen lokale Künstler:innen. Um Energie zu sparen, hat die DB außerdem die Beleuchtung auf energiesparende LED-Leuchten umgerüstet.

Insgesamt rund 15 Millionen Euro haben Bund, Land und die Deutsche Bahn in die Modernisierung des Bahnhofs investiert.

Aktuelles

Bahnhof Ribnitz-Damgarten West umfassend modernisiert

Pressemitteilung des Ministeriums für Wirtschaft, Infrastruktur, Tourismus und Arbeit Meyer: Neues Eingangstor der Bernsteinstadt Ribnitz-Damgarten Ribnitz-Damgarten, 06.09.2023, seit heute hat Mecklenburg-Vorpommern einen weiteren vollständig modernisierten

Hier finden Sie:

Fahrplanentwürfe 2024

Die Fahrplanentwürfe für den Jahresfahrplan 2024 stehen im Anschluss an die Fahrplankonferenz am 01.03.2023 hier zur Einsichtnahme für Sie bereit. Bitte beachten Sie, dass eine regelmäßige Aktualisierung der Fahrplanentwürfe nicht erfolgt.