By train to the ship - reach Bornholm and Ystad by train in summer

Press release of the Ministry of Economy, Infrastructure, Tourism and Labour Mecklenburg-Vorpommern:

Meyer: Sassnitz-Mukran ferry port is an important tourist hub

Schwerin, 18.04.2022 -More comfort for holiday travellers: The Ministry of Transport, DB Fernverkehr, Hanseatische Eisenbahn (HANS), the ferry lines and the port have agreed to offer passengers train connections directly from Bergen on Rügen to the Sassnitz/Mukran ferry terminal. The route will initially be reactivated on a trial basis. During the main arrival and departure days of the coming holiday season, there will be train connections with interregional connections in Bergen auf Rügen on Saturdays.

"Thanks to the ferry lines to Bornholm and Ystad, the ferry port of Sassnitz-Mukran is an important tourist hub in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. In order to further expand this position, to offer passengers more comfort and also to guarantee ferry passengers without a car better accessibility to the port, we want to make this offer," said Reinhard Meyer, Minister for Economic Affairs, Infrastructure, Tourism and Labour.

Comfortably by train to the ferry

On all Saturdays between 21.05. and 24.09.2022 as well as on 15. and 22.10.2022, two return journeys will be offered on the route between Bergen auf Rügen and Sassnitz Fährhafen with local trains of the Hanseatic Railway with the newly established line RE 27. In the morning, there is a connection to and from the ferry to Rønne/Bornholm. In the afternoon, there is a connection to the Bornholm ferry (except in the period 02.07.- 06.08.2022) as well as to the ferry to and from Ystad. In Bergen auf Rügen, there are connections to direct long-distance and regional trains to/from Rostock, Hamburg and Berlin, but also e.g. to/from Saxony, Thuringia, Hesse, Bavaria, Lower Saxony and North Rhine-Westphalia. "This gives holidaymakers the opportunity to travel comfortably and in an environmentally friendly way by train to the ships of Bornholm Lines and FRS Baltic from the island of Rügen to the Kingdom of Denmark or Sweden," said Meyer. 

Land finances additional trips

The Danish Baltic Sea island of Bornholm can be reached by ferry in 3:20 to 4:15 hours. The crossing to the southern Swedish town of Ystad takes only 2 hours and 15 minutes from Sassnitz. The additional RE 27 journeys are ordered and financed by the state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. The expected costs are around 40,000 euros. After the end of the season, all parties involved will jointly evaluate the demand for the service and discuss the design of the service for the 2023 season.

Berthold Witting, Managing Director of VMV Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern mbH, emphasises: "The trial operation of the RE 27 is another step towards the mobility revolution and reactivates a popular tourist connection for local transport. In the 2022 season, the ferry port of Sassnitz will once again be accessible by climate-friendly train. I hope that many holidaymakers will take up the offer and travel by train to the popular island of Rügen and on excursions to Denmark or Sweden.

Alexander Kaczmarek, Deutsche Bahn's Group Representative for Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, is pleased: "Another building block for environmentally friendly travel! The port, the shipping company and the railway companies have pulled together and VMV has coordinated in the best possible way. The result is a customer-friendly offer.

Dr Ralf Böhme, Managing Director of Hanseatische Eisenbahn GmbH (HANS) emphasises: "The shuttle connections close and complete the gap between the ferries and long-distance and regional transport; for example, the travel chain Scandinavia - Berlin. We are confident that this offer will be very popular.

More information about the train connections

The RE 27 timetable is attached. If you have any questions, please contact Katharina Henkel (Team Leader Public Relations and Marketing VMV) under 0385/59087-14 or k.henkel@vmv-mbh.de available.

Background information on VMV Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

The state-owned company is involved in the implementation of the state government's transport policy goals and ensures the provision of transport services in local rail passenger transport (SPNV). Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern mbH was founded in 1995 after the railway reform reorganised the state's responsibilities for regional passenger rail transport. With the Regionalisation Act, responsibility was transferred to the federal states. The VMV is responsible for assuming the duties of planning, organising and financing transport services in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. With the Public Transport Act of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, the state regulates the distribution of responsibilities within its borders: While road-based public transport is the responsibility of the municipal authorities, regional passenger transport remains under the administration of the state because of its supra-regional importance.

 

 

 

News

FAQ's on the 9 Euro Ticket in M-V

The VMV-Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern welcomes - without prejudice to questions that still need to be clarified - the introduction of the 9-Euro-Ticket to strengthen local public transport in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Use the

First modernised RE1 presented

More comfortable and now with WLAN: Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and Deutsche Bahn modernise RE1 trains between Rostock, Schwerin and Hamburg Schwerin, 16 May 2022 Train passengers between Rostock,

Your opinion counts

Have your say on the 2023 Roadmap

The extensive passenger participation in the preparation of the 2023 annual timetable has been completed. The draft timetables for the annual timetable 2023 are still available for inspection. Please note that the draft timetables will not be updated.

Mit dem Zug zum Schiff – Fähren nach Bornholm und Ystad im Sommer mit dem Zug erreichen

Pressemitteilung des Ministeriums für Wirtschaft, Infrastruktur, Tourismus und Arbeit Mecklenburg-Vorpommern:

Meyer: Fährhafen Sassnitz-Mukran ist wichtiges touristisches Drehkreuz

Schwerin, 18.04.2022 –Mehr Komfort für Urlaubsreisende: Das Verkehrsministerium, die DB Fernverkehr, die Hanseatische Eisenbahn (HANS), die Fährlinien und der Hafen haben vereinbart, Fahrgästen Zugverbindungen direkt von Bergen auf Rügen zum Fährterminal Sassnitz/Mukran anzubieten. Die Strecke wird zunächst auf Probe reaktiviert. Während der Hauptan- und Abreisetage der kommenden Urlaubssaison gibt es an Sonnabenden Zuganbindungen mit überregionalen Anschlüssen in Bergen auf Rügen.

„Durch die Fährlinien nach Bornholm und Ystad ist der Fährhafen Sassnitz-Mukran ein wichtiges touristisches Drehkreuz in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Um diese Position weiter auszubauen, den Fahrgästen mehr Komfort zu bieten und auch Fährpassagieren ohne Auto eine bessere Erreichbarkeit des Hafens zu gewährleisten, wollen wir dieses Angebot machen“, sagte der Minister für Wirtschaft, Infrastruktur, Tourismus und Arbeit Reinhard Meyer.

Bequem mit dem Zug zur Fähre

An allen Samstagen zwischen dem 21.05. und dem 24.09.2022 sowie am 15. und 22.10.2022 werden jeweils zwei Hin- und Rückfahrten auf der Strecke zwischen Bergen auf Rügen und Sassnitz Fährhafen mit Nahverkehrszügen der Hanseatischen Eisenbahn mit der neu eingerichteten Linie RE 27 angeboten. Es besteht dabei am Vormittag Anschluss von und zur Fähre nach Rønne/Bornholm. Am Nachmittag wird neben der Bornholmfähre (außer im Zeitraum 02.07.- 06.08.2022) auch die Fähre von und nach Ystad erreicht. In Bergen auf Rügen bestehen Anschlüsse zu Direktzügen des Fern- und Regionalverkehrs in/aus Richtung Rostock, Hamburg und Berlin, aber auch z.B. aus/nach Sachsen, Thüringen, Hessen, Bayern, Niedersachsen und Nordrhein-Westfalen. „So haben Urlaubsreisende die Möglichkeit, bequem und umweltfreundlich mit dem Zug zu den Schiffen der Bornholmlinien und der FRS Baltic von der Insel Rügen in das Königreich Dänemark oder nach Schweden zu reisen“, sagte Meyer. 

Land finanziert zusätzliche Fahrten

Die dänische Ostseeinsel Bornholm ist mit der Fähre in 3:20 bis 4:15 Stunden zu erreichen. Die Überfahrt in die südschwedische Stadt Ystad dauert von Sassnitz aus nur 2 Stunden und 15 Minuten. Die zusätzlichen Fahrten der RE 27 werden vom Land Mecklenburg-Vorpommern bestellt und finanziert. Die voraussichtlichen Kosten betragen rund 40.000 Euro. Nach Abschluss der Saison werden alle Beteiligten die Nachfrage des Angebots gemeinsam auswerten und über die Ausgestaltung des Angebotes für die Saison 2023 beraten.

Berthold Witting, Geschäftsführer VMV Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern mbH betont: „Der Probebetrieb der RE 27 ist ein weiterer Schritt in Richtung Mobilitätswende und reaktiviert eine beliebte touristische Verbindung für den Nahverkehr. Der Hafen Fährhafen Sassnitz ist in der Saison 2022 damit erstmals wieder klimafreundlich mit dem Zug erreichbar. Ich wünsche mir, dass viele Urlauber das Angebot annehmen und mit der Bahn auf die beliebte Insel Rügen und zu Ausflügen nach Dänemark oder Schweden anreisen.“

Alexander Kaczmarek, Konzernbevollmächtigter der Deutschen Bahn für Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, freut sich: „Wieder ein Baustein mehr für umweltfreundliches Reisen! Hafen, Reederei und die Eisenbahnunternehmen haben an einem Strang gezogen und die VMV hat bestens koordiniert. So ist ein kundenfreundliches Angebot herausgekommen.“

Dr. Ralf Böhme, Geschäftsführer der Hanseatischen Eisenbahn GmbH (HANS) betont: „Mit den Shuttleverbindungen wird die Lücke zwischen den Fähren und dem Fern- und Regionalverkehr geschlossen und komplettiert; so z.B. die Reisekette Skandinavien – Berlin. Wir sind zuversichtlich, dass dieses Angebot regen Zuspruch finden wird.“

Weitere Informationen zu den Zugverbindungen

Der Fahrplan der RE 27 ist beigefügt. Für Rückfragen steht Katharina Henkel (Teamleitung Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Marketing VMV) unter 0385/59087-14 oder k.henkel@vmv-mbh.de zur Verfügung.

Hintergrundinformationen zur VMV Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

Die landeseigene Gesellschaft wirkt an der Umsetzung der verkehrspolitischen Ziele der Landesregierung mit und sorgt für die Sicherstellung von Verkehrsleistungen im Schienenpersonennahverkehr (SPNV). Die Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern mbH wurde im Jahre 1995 gegründet, nachdem die Bahnreform die staatlichen Zuständigkeiten für den SPNV neu regelte. Mit dem Regionalisierungsgesetz wurde die Verantwortung auf die Bundesländer übertragen. Der VMV obliegt es, die Pflichten der Planung, Organisation und Finanzierung der Verkehrsleistungen in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern zu übernehmen. Mit dem ÖPNV-Gesetz Mecklenburg-Vorpommern regelt das Land die Aufgabenverteilung innerhalb seiner Grenzen: Während der straßengebundene ÖPNV von den kommunalen Trägern verantwortet wird, bleibt der SPNV wegen seiner überregionalen Bedeutung in der Verwaltung des Landes.

 

 

 

Aktuelles

FAQ´s zum 9 Euro-Ticket in M-V

Die VMV-Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern begrüßt – unbeschadet noch zu klärender Fragen – die Einführung des 9-Euro-Tickets zur Stärkung des öffentlichen Personennahverkehr in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Nutzen Sie das

Ihre Meinung zählt

Reden Sie mit beim Fahrplan 2023

Die umfassende Beteiligung der Fahrgäste bei der Vorbereitung des Jahresfahrplanes 2023 ist abgeschlossen. Die Fahrplanentwürfe für den Jahresfahrplan 2023 stehen weiterhin zur Einsichtnahme bereit. Bitte beachten Sie, dass eine Aktualisierung der Fahrplanentwürfe nicht erfolgt.