SPNV award sub-network Ostsee-Alster (OSTA) finalised - contract awarded

Schwerin, 27 November 2023 In November 2023, the federal states of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Schleswig-Holstein and the Free Hanseatic City of Hamburg made their decision to award the contract for the high-demand Regional Express Line 1 (RE1), which connects Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania with the Hamburg metropolitan region. In the award procedure, which has been running since October 2022, the operator was sought from December 2027 over a period of 14 timetable years until 2041. This also affects services to/from Lübeck, which will be converted to environmentally friendly electric traction from 12/2029 following infrastructure expansion as part of the Fehmarnbelt hinterland connection and will further enhance the OSTA sub-network with the new RE2 Rostock - Lübeck and RE4 Schwerin - Lübeck lines. Following the start of the contract with 3.4 million train kilometres, at least around 4.3 million train kilometres per year are to be provided for the three northern states when fully operational from 2030.

In July 2023, two bidders submitted their bids for transport services on the OSTA sub-network, which have been reviewed and evaluated in recent months. Now that the deadline for appeals has expired, it is clear that the contract can be awarded on time: The winner is DB Regio AG with its bid.

In accordance with the requirements of the federal states, the main focus of the service is the conversion of operations from the previous locomotive-hauled double-decker trains to new, predominantly double-decker multiple-unit trains, which will be used in the sizes three-part, five-part and eight-part in future.

DB Regio AG will use Alstom Coradia Stream trains for this purpose in future. In order to be prepared for further increases in demand following the experience with the Deutschlandticket, the federal states are commissioning the option for one additional vehicle each at the same time as the contract is awarded, so that a fleet of 18 trains (9 five-car and 9 three-car trains) can be procured from the outset. These trains will now also run between Hamburg and Büchen at peak times in a combination of five-car and three-car units with more than 720 full seats in order to enable higher capacities in the centre of the metropolitan region. For the foreseeable future, only five-car trains (RE1) and three-car trains (RE2, RE4) will be able to run into Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania due to limited platform lengths. Platform development programmes require a targeted exchange with the infrastructure operators, which the federal states will continue.

The award result takes into account numerous innovations such as two-hourly connections between Rostock and Lübeck (RE2) and Schwerin and Lübeck (RE4) as well as more half-hourly services and a night service between Hamburg and Büchen. There will be further service improvements on the route between Schwerin and Rostock. In line with the new RE2 and RE4 lines as well as long-distance services, there will be approximately one hourly service per day (in some cases with a change in Bad Kleinen).

A holistic vehicle equipment concept including a fresh vehicle design inside and out in line with the Mecklenburg-Vorpommern state concept and WLAN will ensure greater comfort. Digitalisation and real-time information will play a central role in the areas of passenger information and sales.

The proven deployment of train attendants on all train journeys will be maintained. In addition, security personnel will be present more frequently on the OSTA sub-network.

"We want and need to equip ourselves for the future with the cross-border OSTA sub-network. One of our aims is to expand capacity for all user groups with new, modern vehicles and more frequent services - more environmentally friendly mobility that is suitable for everyday use and connects our northern German regions," says Reinhard Meyer, Minister for Economic Affairs, Infrastructure, Tourism and Labour.

Dr Anjes Tjarks, Hamburg's Senator for Transport and Mobility Transition: "The mobility transition in Hamburg will only succeed if the mobility transition in the entire metropolitan region succeeds. The Deutschlandticket has also significantly increased demand for regional transport. It is therefore a good signal that we are working together with Schleswig-Holstein and Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania to further strengthen the Hanseexpress between Hamburg and Rostock. We will offer passengers a high-quality service and increase overall capacity on the routes to more than 4 million train kilometres per year."

Claus Ruhe Madsen, Minister for Economic Affairs, Transport, Labour, Technology and Tourism for the state of Schleswig-Holstein: "We are delighted with the result of the tender, which also means significant improvements for passengers in Schleswig-Holstein. The up to eight-car vehicles offer significantly higher seating capacity and greater travelling comfort. With more half-hourly services and a night service, Büchen will be better connected to Hamburg. This makes it even more attractive to switch from car to train. This is how the mobility transition works."

 

News

Save the Date: "Rail Day" on 20 September in Rostock

The railway companies Molli, ODEG, DB Regio and Verkehrsverbund Warnow will be presenting themselves together with VMV-Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern at Rostock Central Station and offering a colourful programme

VMV organises the 83rd General Assembly of the BSN

Schwerin 19/20 June 2024 This June, VMV is hosting the 83rd General Assembly of the Federal Association of Local Rail Transport (BSN). VMV-Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern has been a member of the association for many years.

SPNV-Vergabe Teilnetz Ostsee-Alster (OSTA) unter Dach und Fach – Zuschlag erteilt

Schwerin, den 27.11.2023 Die Länder Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Schleswig-Holstein und die Freie Hansestadt Hamburg haben im November 2023 ihre Vergabeentscheidung zur nachfragestarken Regionalexpresslinie 1 (RE1) getroffen, die Mecklenburg-Vorpommern mit der Metropolregion Hamburg verbindet. Im seit Oktober 2022 laufenden Vergabeverfahren wurde der Betreiber ab Dezember 2027 über eine Laufzeit von 14 Fahrplanjahren bis 2041 gesucht. Berührt sind auch die Verkehre von/nach Lübeck, die nach Infrastrukturausbau im Zuge der Fehmarnbelt-Hinterlandanbindung ab 12/2029 auf umweltfreundliche elektrische Traktion umgestellt werden und mit den neuen Linien RE2 Rostock – Lübeck und RE4 Schwerin – Lübeck das Teilnetz OSTA weiter aufwerten. Nach dem Start des Vertrags mit 3,4 Millionen Zugkilometern sind für die drei Nordländer im vollen Inbetriebnahmezustand ab 2030 jährlich mindestens circa 4,3 Millionen Zugkilometer zu erbringen.

Für die Verkehre im Teilnetz OSTA haben zwei Bieter im Juli 2023 ihre Angebote vorgelegt, die in den letzten Monaten geprüft und gewertet wurden. Nach Ablauf der Rechtsmittel­frist steht fest, dass der Zuschlag fristgerecht erteilt werden kann: Gewinner ist die DB Regio AG mit Ihrem Angebot.

Schwerpunkt des Angebotes, entsprechend den Vorgaben der Länder, ist die Umstellung des Betriebs von bisher lokbespannten Doppelstockzügen auf neue überwiegend doppelstöckige Triebzüge, die künftig in den Größen Dreiteiler, Fünfteiler und Achtteiler zum Einsatz gelangen.

Die DB Regio AG wird dafür künftig Züge „Coradia Stream“ des Herstellers Alstom einsetzen. Um nach den Erfahrungen mit dem Deutschlandticket auf weitere Nachfragezuwächse gerüstet zu sein, beauftragen die Länder die Option für jeweils ein zusätzliches Fahrzeug gleich mit dem Zuschlag, so dass von vornherein ein Fahrzeugpark von 18 Zügen (9 Fünfteiler und 9 Dreiteiler) beschafft werden kann. Diese Züge werden zwischen Hamburg und Büchen zu Hauptverkehrszeiten neu auch in Kombination aus Fünf- und Dreiteiler mit mehr als 720 vollwertigen Sitzplätzen verkehren, um im Kern der Metropolregion höhere Kapazitäten zu ermöglichen. Nach Mecklenburg-Vorpommern hinein können weiterhin aufgrund begrenzter Bahnsteiglängen auf absehbare Zeit nur Fünfteiler (RE1) bzw. Dreiteiler (RE2, RE4) verkehren. Bahnsteigentwicklungsprogramme erfordern den zielgerichteten Austausch mit den Infrastrukturbetreibern, den die Länder fortführen werden.

Das Vergabeergebnis berücksichtigt zahlreiche Neuerungen wie beispielsweise, zweistündlich umsteigefreie Verbindungen zwischen Rostock und Lübeck (RE2) und Schwerin und Lübeck (RE4) sowie mehr Halbstundentakte und einen Nachtverkehr zwischen Hamburg und Büchen. Weitere Leistungsverbesserungen ergeben sich auf der Strecke zwischen Schwerin und Rostock. Dort wird es, abgestimmt auf die neuen Linien RE2 und RE4 sowie Fernverkehrsangebote, täglich etwa ein stündliches Fahrtenangebot (teilweise mit Umstieg in Bad Kleinen) geben.

Ein ganzheitliches Ausstattungskonzept der Fahrzeuge inklusive frischem Fahrzeugdesign innen und außen nach dem Landeskonzept Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und WLAN sorgt für mehr Komfort. In den Bereichen Fahrgastinformation und Vertrieb werden Digitalisierung und Echtzeitinformation eine zentrale Rolle einnehmen.

Beibehalten wird der bewährte Zugbegleitereinsatz auf allen Zugfahrten. Darüber hinaus ist Sicherheitspersonal im Teilnetz OSTA häufiger präsent.

„Wir wollen und müssen uns mit dem länderübergreifenden Teilnetz OSTA für die Zukunft rüsten. Ziel ist es unter anderem, mit neuen, modernen Fahrzeugen und verdichteten Takten die Kapazitäten für alle Nutzergruppen auszubauen – mehr alltagstaugliche, umweltfreundliche Mobilität, die unsere norddeutschen Regionen verbindet“, sagt der Minister für Wirtschaft, Infrastruktur, Tourismus und Arbeit Reinhard Meyer.

Dr. Anjes Tjarks, Hamburgs Senator für Verkehr und Mobilitätswende: „Die Mobilitätswende in Hamburg gelingt nur, wenn die Mobilitätswende in der gesamten Metropolregion gelingt. Das Deutschlandticket hat auch im Regionalverkehr die Nachfrage nochmal deutlich gesteigert. Daher ist es ein gutes Signal, wenn wir gemeinsam mit Schleswig-Holstein und Mecklenburg-Vorpommern den Hanseexpress zwischen Hamburg und Rostock weiter stärken. Wir werden den Fahrgästen ein qualitativ hochwertiges Angebot machen und insgesamt die Kapazitäten auf den Strecken auf mehr als 4 Millionen Zugkilometer im Jahr erhöhen.“

Claus Ruhe Madsen, Minister für Wirtschaft, Verkehr, Arbeit, Technologie und Tourismus des Landes Schleswig-Holstein: „Wir freuen uns über das Ergebnis der Ausschreibung, das auch für die Fahrgäste in Schleswig-Holstein erhebliche Verbesserungen bedeutet. Bei mehr Fahrtkomfort gibt es durch die bis zu achtteiligen Fahrzeuge deutlich höhere Sitzplatzkapazitäten. Mit mehr Halbstundentakten und einem Nachtverkehr wird Büchen besser an Hamburg angebunden. Das macht es noch attraktiver, von dem Auto auf die Bahn umzusteigen. So funktioniert Mobilitätswende.“

 

Aktuelles

Presseeinladung zum Bürgerforum in Zarrentin

Presseeinladung des Ministeriums für Wirtschaft, Infrastruktur, Tourismus und Arbeit Reaktivierung des Schienenpersonennahverkehrs auf der Strecke Hagenow Stadt nach Zarrentin Im Rahmen der Mobilitätsoffensive Mecklenburg-Vorpommern wir