Southern runway seasonal traffic

Schwerin, 13.04.2022 - Punctually at Easter this year, the seasonal service of the Southern Railway starts at weekends, from Parchim via Lübz and Karow to Plau am See (RB19) as well as between Waren, Malchow and Plau (RB15). ODEG offers daily train services in southern Mecklenburg with the RB15 line between Waren (Müritz) and the island town of Malchow. A new feature this year is that the RB15 will be extended from Waren via Malchow to Plau am See.

During the holiday season, the RB15 will continue to serve additional stops (additional stations) in Alt Schwerin, Karow (Meckl) and Plau am See in the recreation region on Saturdays and Sundays at 2-hour intervals during Easter and from Ascension Day until 11 September 2022.

For tourists and travellers from the west, the RB 19 will start this year with almost twice as many trips and for the first time at 2-hour intervals on the route between Parchim, Lübz, Passow (Meckl), Gallin, Karow (Meckl) to Plau am See. In Hagenow Land, there is a connection to the RE1 trains from/to Hamburg. In addition, there will again be suitable connecting trains from/to Schwerin (RB13) in Parchim.

"The Südbahn route is aimed at tourist traffic to the Mecklenburg Lake District. The timetable concept has been better coordinated this year together with the participating bus and railway companies in the district and the citizens' initiative Südbahn, because the 2-hourly interval of the regional trains is supplemented by an hourly bus service of line 77 (VLP-Verkehrsgesellschaft Ludwigslust Parchim) from Plau am See to Malchow. This way, holidaymakers can easily and comfortably discover the most beautiful destinations in the region by train or bus," says State Transport Minister Reinhard Meyer.

In addition, passengers have the option of ordering a call bus at the stations in Parchim, Lübz and Plau (Call bus VLP).

"With the new integrated timetable of train, regular bus and call bus, the transport services on the southern railway are raised to a new level. I am pleased about the cooperation between all modes of transport and especially about the far-reaching ticket recognition between them," says Stefan Lösel, Managing Director of Verkehrsgesellschaft Ludwigslust-Parchim mbH (VLP).

Clemens Russell from the citizens' initiative adds: "Through joint action, it was possible to significantly improve the services on the Southern Railway seasonal service in 2022. However, we regret the missing connection from Berlin via Pritzwalk to Plau this year. Basically, whoever uses the train and bus is the winner of tomorrow's mobility, and not only in seasonal traffic at weekends, but all year round and every day."

More network for the ticket

As last year, the state of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania successfully lobbied for better fare networking. "It is particularly important that tickets are mutually recognised on the route between Parchim, Plau am See and the island town of Malchow. This way, passengers only need to buy one ticket," says Reinhard Meyer.

With state-wide ticket offers as well as with the "Mecklenburg-Vorpommern-Ticket" (MV-Ticket), this year it is once again possible to get to the Lake District region from all over Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, but also, for example, from the Hamburg area, by train and with just one ticket. Cycling enthusiasts can also take their bicycles along on trains and buses at low cost with the "Fahrradtageskarte Nahverkehr" (local transport day ticket for bicycles) for only six euros.

This year, the state will take over the responsibility for the task

With the timetable change in December 2021, the state-owned Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern mbH (VMV) has taken over responsibility for the Müritzbahn (RB15 Waren - Malchow) from the district of Mecklenburgische Seenplatte on behalf of the state. This now makes it possible to order seasonal transport on the entire southern railway from a single source.

"I would like to express my sincere thanks to the Mecklenburg Lake District and Ludwigslust-Parchim, the tourism offices, the Southern Railway Citizens' Initiative and the transport company VLP and ODEG for their support in creating this really attractive seasonal offer," says Berthold Witting, Managing Director of VMV, and appeals: "Be part of it too and discover the most beautiful destinations in the Mecklenburg Lake District region in a climate-friendly way by bus and train!"

More information at:

https://suedbahn-saisonverkehr.de/

Current press releases

News

FAQ's on the 9 Euro Ticket in M-V

The VMV-Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern welcomes - without prejudice to questions that still need to be clarified - the introduction of the 9-Euro-Ticket to strengthen local public transport in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Use the

First modernised RE1 presented

More comfortable and now with WLAN: Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and Deutsche Bahn modernise RE1 trains between Rostock, Schwerin and Hamburg Schwerin, 16 May 2022 Train passengers between Rostock,

Public Transport Workshop

Schwerin 26.04.2022 - The VMV-Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern has invited the transport companies of the state, the municipal umbrella organisations, the counties and independent cities to a workshop on joint projects.

Your opinion counts

Have your say on the 2023 Roadmap

The extensive passenger participation in the preparation of the 2023 annual timetable has been completed. The draft timetables for the annual timetable 2023 are still available for inspection. Please note that the draft timetables will not be updated.

Südbahn Saisonverkehr

Schwerin, 13.04.2022 – Pünktlich zu Ostern startet in diesem Jahr an den Wochenenden der Saisonverkehr der Südbahn, von Parchim über Lübz und Karow nach Plau am See (RB19) sowie zwischen Waren, Malchow und Plau (RB15). Die ODEG bietet in Südmecklenburg mit der Linie RB15 tägliche Zugfahrten zwischen Waren (Müritz) und der Inselstadt Malchow an. Neu ist in diesem Jahr, dass die RB15 von Waren über Malchow bis Plau am See verlängert wird.

In der Urlaubssaison geht’s noch weiter, an Ostern und ab Christi Himmelfahrt bis 11. September 2022 bedient die RB15 an Samstagen und Sonntagen im 2h Takt zusätzliche Halte (weitere Stationen) Alt Schwerin, Karow (Meckl) und Plau am See in der Erholungsregion.

Für Touristen und Reisende aus westlicher Richtung startet die RB 19 dieses Jahr mit fast doppelt so vielen Fahrten und erstmalig im 2-Stundentakt auf der Strecke zwischen Parchim, Lübz, Passow (Meckl), Gallin, Karow (Meckl) bis nach Plau am See. In Hagenow Land besteht Anschluss an die Züge des RE1 aus/in Richtung Hamburg. Zudem wird es in Parchim auch wieder passende Anschlusszüge aus/in Richtung Schwerin (RB13) geben.

„Die Südbahnstrecke zielt auf den touristischen Verkehr zur Mecklenburgischen Seenplatte ab. Das Fahrplankonzept wurde in diesem Jahr gemeinsam mit den beteiligten Bus- und Eisenbahnunternehmen im Landkreis und der Bürgerinitiative Südbahn besser aufeinander abgestimmt, denn der 2-Stundentakt der Regionalzüge wird durch ein stündliches Busangebot der Linie 77 (VLP-Verkehrsgesellschaft Ludwigslust Parchim) von Plau am See nach Malchow ergänzt. So können Urlauber bequem und einfach die schönsten Ziele der Region mit dem Zug oder dem Bus entdecken,“ sagt Landesverkehrsminister Reinhard Meyer.

Zusätzlich haben Reisende die Möglichkeit an den Bahnhöfen in Parchim, Lübz und Plau einen Rufbus zu bestellen (Rufbus VLP).

„Mit dem neuen integrierten Fahrplan aus Bahn, Linienbus und Rufbus werden die Verkehrsleistungen auf der Südbahn auf ein neues Niveau gehoben. Ich freue mich über die Zusammenarbeit zwischen allen Verkehrsträgern und ganz besonders über die weitreichende Fahrscheinanerkennung untereinander“; sagt Stefan Lösel, Geschäftsführer Verkehrsgesellschaft Ludwigslust-Parchim mbH (VLP).

Clemens Russell von der Bürgerinitiative ergänzt: „Durch gemeinsames Handeln konnten die Angebote im Südbahn Saisonverkehr 2022 deutlich verbessert werden. Wir bedauern aber die fehlende Anbindung von Berlin über Pritzwalk nach Plau in diesem Jahr. Grundsätzlich gilt: Wer Bahn und Bus benutzt ist der Gewinner der Mobilität von Morgen, und dies nicht nur im Saisonverkehr an den Wochenenden, sondern ganzjährig und jeden Tag.“

Mehr Netz fürs Ticket

Wie im letzten Jahr hat sich das Land Mecklenburg-Vorpommern erfolgreich für eine bessere tarifliche Vernetzung der Angebote stark gemacht. „Besonders wichtig ist, dass auf der Strecke zwischen Parchim, Plau am See und der Inselstadt Malchow die Fahrscheine gegenseitig anerkannt werden. So brauchen die Fahrgäste nur ein Ticket kaufen“, sagt Reinhard Meyer.

Mit landesweiten Ticketangeboten sowie mit dem „Mecklenburg-Vorpommern-Ticket“ (MV-Ticket) ist es dieses Jahr wieder möglich, aus ganz Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, aber beispielsweise auch aus dem Raum Hamburg, mit der Bahn und nur einem Ticket in die Seenplattenregion zu gelangen. Fahrradfreunde können mit der „Fahrradtageskarte Nahverkehr“ für nur sechs Euro auch ihr Rad günstig in Bahn und Bus mitnehmen.

Land übernimmt in diesem Jahr die Aufgabenträgerschaft

Mit dem Fahrplanwechsel im Dezember 2021 hat die landeseigene Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern mbH (VMV) im Auftrag des Landes die Verantwortung für die Müritzbahn (RB15 Waren – Malchow) vom Landkreis Mecklenburgische Seenplatte übernommen. Das ermöglicht nunmehr die Bestellung des Saisonverkehrs auf der gesamten Südbahn aus einer Hand.

„Ich möchte den Landkreisen Mecklenburgische Seenplatte und Ludwigslust-Parchim, den Tourismusbüros, der Bürgerinitiative Südbahn sowie dem Verkehrsunternehmen VLP und der ODEG für ihre Unterstützung bei der Erstellung dieses wirklich attraktiven Saisonangebotes sehr herzlich danken“, sagt Berthold Witting Geschäftsführer der VMV und appelliert: „Seien auch Sie mit dabei und entdecken Sie die schönsten Ziele der Region Mecklenburgische Seenlandschaft klimafreundlich mit Bus und Bahn!“

Mehr Informationen unter:

https://suedbahn-saisonverkehr.de/

Aktuelle Presseinformationen

Aktuelles

FAQ´s zum 9 Euro-Ticket in M-V

Die VMV-Verkehrsgesellschaft Mecklenburg-Vorpommern begrüßt – unbeschadet noch zu klärender Fragen – die Einführung des 9-Euro-Tickets zur Stärkung des öffentlichen Personennahverkehr in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Nutzen Sie das

Erster modernisierter RE1 vorgestellt

Komfortabler und jetzt mit WLAN: Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und Deutsche Bahn modernisieren Züge des RE1 zwischen Rostock, Schwerin und Hamburg Schwerin, 16. Mai 2022 Zugreisende zwischen Rostock,

Ihre Meinung zählt

Reden Sie mit beim Fahrplan 2023

Die umfassende Beteiligung der Fahrgäste bei der Vorbereitung des Jahresfahrplanes 2023 ist abgeschlossen. Die Fahrplanentwürfe für den Jahresfahrplan 2023 stehen weiterhin zur Einsichtnahme bereit. Bitte beachten Sie, dass eine Aktualisierung der Fahrplanentwürfe nicht erfolgt.